Jimmy Owens once again dominates 411 for FloRacing win

Jimmy Owens dominated the FloRacing feature

There are some things in life that can always be counted on. The sun rising in the east, the government spending more money than it takes in, and Jimmy Owens winning big races at 411 Motor Speedway. On Tuesday night, the third of those things came true once again as the ‘The Newport Nightmare’ dominated the Castrol FloRacing Night in America feature event.

The Rocket Chassis driver from Newport, Tennessee earned $22,022 for his efforts in a race held on the 3/8 mile track located in Seymour, Tennessee.

A total of 37 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Brandon Sheppard (13.738), 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Mike Marlar, 4. Dale McDowell, 5. Kyle Larson, 6. Hudson O’Neal, 7. John Llewellyn, 8. Spencer Hughes

Group B Results- 1. Jensen Ford(13.617), 2. Chris Madden, 3. Jimmy  Owens, 4. Cory Hedgecock, 5. Eli Beets, 6. Donald McIntosh, 7. Bobby Pierce, 8. Ricky Weiss

Heat 1 Results: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Kyle Larson, 4. John Llewellyn

Heat 2 Results: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr., 2. Dale McDowell, 3. Hudson O’Neal, 4. Spencer Hughes

Heat 3 Results: 1. Jimmy Owens, 2. Jensen Ford, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Dustin Linville

Heat 4 Results: 1. Chris Madden, 2. Cory Hedgecock, 3. Ricky Weiss, 4. Garrett Alberson

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Clay Coghlan, 2.  Parker Martin, 3. Victor Lee

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Donald McIntosh, 2. Eli Beets, 3. Cameron Weaver

Feature Re-cap: Owens shot to the early lead when the green flag waved over the 50-lap feature with Marlar, Madden, Thornton and Ford in his tire tracks. Madden offered a challenge to Marlar for second on lap 4 but the No. 157 car held the spot. At the same time, Hedgecock swept by Ford for fifth. 

Owens began to pull away from his pursuers by lap 5 with the battle for second still being contested behind him. The No. 20 machine began to encounter slower traffic on lap 11 but Owens seemed unfazed as he was able to maintain a relatively comfortable advantage.

Madden was finally able to get by Marlar for the runner-up position on lap 19 after a brief exchange of slide jobs. Further back, Hedgecock took fourth away from Thornton on lap 19 then Pierce moved into the top-5 when he passed Thornton on lap 27.

Over the second half of a race that ran caution free, Owens skillfully picked his way through traffic while holding on to the lead. Eventually, he would sail under the checkered flag for the victory.

Feature Results: 1. Jimmy Owens, 2. Chris Madden, 3. Mike Marlar, 4. Cory Hedgecock, 5. Bobby Pierce, 6. Brandon Sheppard, 7. Jensen Ford, 8. Ricky Thornton Jr., 9. Ricky Weiss, 10. Dale McDowell, 11. Hudson O’Neal, 12. Kyle Larson, 13. Garrett Alberson, 14. Donald McIntosh, 15. Victor Lee, 16. John Llewellyn, 17. Spencer Hughes, 18. Eli Beets, 19. Dustin Linville, 20. Cameron Weaver, 21. Clay Coghlan, 22. David Crabtree

Comments are closed.